Friends of Today’s Music

Friends of Todays Music3Friends of Today’s Music commissions new works specifically for young musicians. Established in 1986 by Dr. Bob Bennett, the project has supported the creation and publication of new works by leading composers of our time. Each commissioned work is premiered by young musicians during the MTAC convention while the audience follows along with the published score. This program provides students the unique opportunity to collaborate with the composer of the piece, and demonstrates the importance of playing music not only from the past but also music being created by today’s composers.

Friends of Today’s Music Commissioned Composer
Lei Liang, Ph.D.

Join us at the MTAC Convention July 2, 2017 at 1p.m.
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara and Santa Clara Convention Center
This event is free and open to the public.

For more information contact FTM chair: Dr. Minji Noh

Chinese-born American composer Lei Liang (b.1972) is the winner of the Rome Prize, the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, an Aaron Copland Award, a Koussevitzky Foundation Commission and a Creative Capital Award. His concerto for saxophone and orchestra “Xiaoxiang” was named a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Music in 2015.

Lei Liang was commissioned by the New York Philharmonic and Alan Gilbert for the inaugural concert of the CONTACT! new music series. Other commissions and performances come from the Fromm Music Foundation, Meet the Composer, Chamber Music America, MAP Fund, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Boston Modern Orchestra Project, the Taipei Chinese Orchestra, the Scharoun Ensemble of the Berlin Philharmonic, the Arditti Quartet, the Shanghai Quartet, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, the New York New Music Ensemble, and pipa virtuoso Wu Man. Lei Liang’s six portrait discs are released on Naxos, New World, Mode, Encounter and Bridge Records. As a scholar and conservationist of cultural traditions, he edited and co-edited four books and editions, and published more than twenty articles.

From 2013-2016, Lei Liang served as Composer-in-Residence at the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology where his multimedia works preserve and reimagine cultural heritage through combining scientific research and advanced technology.

Lei Liang studied composition with Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Robert Cogan, Chaya Czernowin and Mario Davidovsky, and received degrees from the New England Conservatory of Music (B.M. and M.M.) and Harvard University (Ph.D.). A Young Global Leader of the World Economic Forum, he held fellowships from the Harvard Society of Fellows and the Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowships. Lei Liang serves as Professor of Music and chair of the composition area at the University of California, San Diego. His catalogue of more than seventy compositions is published exclusively by Schott Music Corporation (New York).

Tree Rings (2017) for One Piano, 4-Hands

A child encounters a magnificent tree. The tree’s delightful spirit is full of stories hidden in its many rings that ripple like waves. Its thousand leaves dance and ring in the wind, making a magical and playful music. The tree whispers, rustles, sings, and swings, taking the child onto a special journey.
Friends-of-Todays-Music1Friends of Today’s Music Commissioned Works are made possible through the generous support of the Aaron Copland Fund, the Beyster Family Fund at the San Diego Foundation, and individual donations. Anonymous, individual, and MTAC member contributions are accepted throughout the year. To donate, please contact the Amie Vang, Finance Administrator, (415) 978-9668, toll free (800) 834-3340 ext. 109






Michael Daugherty

The Old Man and the Sea
For violin, cello, and piano

Peermusic Classical/Boosey and Hawkes
and Michael Daugherty Music


Joan Tower

Sixth Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman
For Solo Piano

AMP/G. Schirmer Rental Library


Derek Bermel

Four Homages for Piano
For Piano

Peermusic Classical


Katrina Wreede

For Violin, Viola, Cello, Piano

Vlazville Publishing


David Amram

Cancion de Verano
For Violin, Viola, Cello, Piano

C.F. Peters Corporation


Robert Aldridge

Three Waltzes
For Piano

C.F. Peters Corporation


David Rakowski

For Piano Four Hands

C.F. Peters Corporation


Chen Yi

From Old Peking Folklore
For Violin and Piano

Theodore Presser


Paul Chihara

Trio for Flute (Violin), Cello and Piano

C.F. Peters Corporation


Gabriela Lena Frank

Danza de los Saqsampillos
For Two Pianos

G. Schirmer


William Bolcom

*Nine New Bagatelles
For Piano

E. B. Marks Music, Hal Leonard


Libby Larsen

For Piano

Oxford University Press


Steven Stucky

*Meditation and Dance
For Clarinet and Piano

Theodore Presser


Judith Lang Zaimont

In My Lunchbox
For Piano (intermediate)

Vivace Press


Melissa Hui

*and blue sparks burn
For Violin and Piano

Available through MTAC


Robert Maggio

Dreams from Childhood
Piano Duet (intermediate)

Theodore Presser


Bruce Adolphe

Well, It’s Not exactly Beethoven
For Piano

PollyRhythm Productions


Martin Rokeach

*can’t wait
Violin ( flute) Clarinet & Piano

Roncorp Publications


Vivian Fung

Violin, Cello & Piano

Available through MTAC


Samuel Adler

*Concerto No. 2
For Piano & Orchestra

Theodore Presser


Samuel Zyman

Two Motions in One Movement
For Piano

Theodore Presser


Seymour Bernstein

Fantasy on a Theme by Francisco
For Piano

G. Schirmer


Stephen Hartke

The Piano Dreams of Empire
For Piano

MMB Music, Inc.


Donald Waxman

Arabesques and Ostinato
For Two Pianos

Galaxy Music Corp. (ECS)


Emma Lou Diemer

Three Piano Pieces

Plymouth Music/Elkin Music


Gunther Schuller

Music For Young People
Flute and Piano Trio



David Ott

*Sinfonia for Cello and Piano

Park Music Press


Samuel Adler

*The Road to Terpsichore
For Piano

G. Schirmer


William Albright

*The Machine Age
For Piano

C.F. Peters Corporation


Leslie Bassett

For Piano

C.F. Peters Corporation


Richard Felciano

Five Short Piano Pieces

Available through MTAC

Friends of Todays Music4

For more information, contact:
Friends of Today’s Music and Contemporary Music Seminar State Chair, Dr. Minji Noh